Team in Ethiopia

LIVE, LOVE & LEARN PROJECTS MANAGED BY CENTER OF CONCERN (CoC)

Schulspeisung
Our partner

Center of Concern (CoC), our partner in Awasa, is the second-largest NGO in Ethiopia’s southern region and the “shooting star of the year” since 2013 as they are now entitled to operate nationwide. This recognition means a great deal in view of the conditions in Ethiopia.

Since our partner is well organised and has excellent connections, CoC repeatedly manages to persuade public authorities and local people in their kebeles (organised groups) to make personal contributions in the form of work or financial subsidies. This enables us to complete our construction projects at a lower cost than other organisations do.

CoC complements our projects through projects of its own. In collaboration with other international NGOs CoC launched a day-stay house for around 1,000 street kids, had science classrooms built, staged campaigns against female genital mutilation and managed a polio vaccination campaign, to just mention a selection of the projects.

Nowadays, EDGET only provides around 10% of CoC’s annual project funding; 90% come from other sources acquired by CoC. When our project work started in Awassa, the ratio was exactly the other way round! 

All the CoC staff – around 45 at present – are paid normal, local salaries, which is not the case with the major, well-known charity organisations. Our partner works on the basis of objective-performance agreements with personnel and encourages the further development of staff skills.

EDGET has been named by CoC as the contact for European institutions and can be contacted at any time.


Assefa Getaneh

Assefa Getaneh
Managing Director

  • Background: Lawyer, corporate counsel for Commercial Bank, Ethiopia
  • Managing and controlling CoC projects
  • Since 2008 cooperation with EDGET
  • Main contact person and supervision of EDGET projects
Meskerem Walelegn

Meskerem Walelegn
Personell management

  • Controlling
  • Personnel management
  • Management of EDGET projects
Hirut

Hirut Feleke
Social worker

  • Taking care of the children in the LOVE, LIVE & LEARN house
  • Coordinating the house staff
  • Contact person for the children, families, schools and supervisory authorities
  • Reporting
  • Monitoring
Bezawit Dargie

Bezawit Dargie
Social worker

  • Taking care of the children in the scholarship program
  • Contact person for families, schools and public authorities
  • Contact person for the children
  • Administering the scholarships (payments to scholars)
  • Reporting & Monitoring

Team in Äthiopien

Management der LIVE, LOVE & LEARN Projekte durch "Center of Concern" (CoC)

Schulspeisung
Unser Partner
Unser Partner Center of Concern (CoC) vor Ort in Awassa ist heute die zweitgrößte NGO (Nichtregierungsorganisation) in der Südregion Äthiopiens und seit 2013 "Aufsteiger des Jahres", da er jetzt auch auf nationaler Ebene tätig sein darf.  Diese Anerkennung bedeutet viel unter den gegebenen Rahmenbedingungen in Äthiopien.
Da unser Partner hervorragend aufgestellt und vernetzt ist, gelingt es immer wieder, behördliche Stellen und die in "kebeles" basis-organisierten Menschen zu bewegen, Eigenleistungen in Form von Arbeitskraft oder finanziellen Zuschüssen zu leisten. So können wir unsere Bauprojekte im Vergleich kostengünstiger als andere realisieren.
CoC komplettiert unsere Projekte durch eigene Projekte. In Zusammenarbeit mit anderen (internationalen) NGOs hat CoC u.a. ein Tageshaus für Straßenkinder initiiert (für ca. 1.000 Straßenkinder), naturwissenschaftliche Unterrichtsräume gebaut, Kampagnen gegen die Beschneidungspraxis von Mädchen durchgeführt oder eine Polio-Impfkampagne geleitet.
EDGET trägt heute nur noch 10% der jährlichen CoC-Projektmittel, 90% rekrutieren sich aus anderen Quellen, die CoC eigenständig entwickelt hat. Am Anfang unserer Projektarbeit war das Verhältnis genau umgekehrt!
Alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter (heute ca. 45) arbeiten - anders als bei unseren bekannten, großen Spendenorganisationen - zu normalen, lokalen Gehältern. Unser Partner arbeitet bei der Personalführung mit Ziel-Leistungs-Vereinbarungen und orientiert sich an der Weiterentwicklung der Mitarbeiterfähigkeiten.
EDGET ist von CoC als Ansprechpartner für europäische Institutionen ernannt worden und kann jederzeit kontaktiert werden.

Assefa Getaneh

Assefa Getaneh
Geschäftsführender Direktor von Center of Concern

  • Beruflicher Hintergrund: Jurist, Rechtsanwalt, Justitiar bei der Commercial Bank, Äthiopien
  • Seit 2008 Kooperation mit EDGET
  • Projektsteuerung und Kontrolle COC - Projekte
  • Zentraler Ansprechpartner und Supervision d. EDGET Projekte
Meskerem Walelegn

Meskerem Walelegn
Personalführung

  • Controlling
  • Personalführung
  • Management EDGET Projekte
Nuriya Kassim

Etsub Sileshi
Sozialarbeitern

  • Begleitung der Kinder und Ansprechpartnerin im Kinderhaus
  • Koordination der MitarbeiterInnen des Hauses
  • Kontaktperson für Restfamilien, Schulen, Aufsichtsbehörde
  • Berichterstattung
  • Monitoring
Edlawit Haile

Edlawit Haile
Sozialarbeitern

  • Begleitung der Kinder des Stipendienprogramms
  • Kontaktperson für Restfamilien, Schulen, Behörde
  • Ansprechpartnerin der Kinder
  • Abwicklung des technischen Teils der Stipendien (Auszahlungen)
  • Berichterstattung & Monitoring